The Latest

Contribute. We love to hear your thoughts, your musings and your latest work. Please share with us!
Write a post

Faites la connaissance de Laura et Jorge

Posted on August 5, 2021
By Tamarack Institute

Faites la connaissance de Laura et Jorge, les deux membres de notre équipe Communautés pour la transition climatique 

Allô! Nous sommes tous les deux très excités de faire partie de la communauté de Tamarack! Nous avons récemment eu une conversation autour d’un café au cours de laquelle nous avons parlé de ce qui nous a amenés à choisir Communautés pour la transition climatique; de ce que ça implique de faire partie de l’équipe de l’Institut Tamarack; et des expériences qui ont façonné notre manière de concevoir l’équité et la crise climatique.   


Laura SchnurrJGphoto

 

Pourquoi avez-vous décidé de vous joindre à Communautés pour la transition climatique? 

Laura : La crise climatique est le principal défi de notre époque et il doit être relevé de sorte à promouvoir la justice, l’équité et le bien-être pour tou-te-s. Tout le monde doit s’y mettre immédiatement; il faut travailler ensemble pour établir une vision commune et élaborer des plans locaux pour réaliser la transition, et ce, malgré nos différences. 

Jorge : D’après ce qu’a dit le secrétaire général des Nations unies, António Guterres, les villes dans le monde sont responsables de plus de 70 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. En tant que planificateur urbain, je crois que contribuer aux efforts de lutte contre les changements climatiques est impératif pour toute personne qui souhaite aménager des espaces plus justes et régénérateurs afin que tous les êtres vivants puissent s’épanouir. M’engager au sein de Communautés pour la transition climatique est l’un des gestes les plus importants que j’ai posés pour concrétiser cette vision.  

Que signifie pour vous faire partie de la communauté de Tamarack? 

Laura : Pour moi, faire partie de la communauté de Tamarack (et ses quelque 38 000 apprenant-e-s actifs) implique d’induire des changements à partir de la base, et de mettre en lien les diverses initiatives de changement communautaire à travers le pays et le monde.   

Jorge : Se joindre à l’Institut Tamarack signifie faire partie d’un réseau d’apprenant-e-s où d’étroites relations peuvent être tissées, et où l’innovation communautaire peut éclore.  

Quelles expériences ont façonné votre manière de concevoir l’équité et la crise climatique? 

Laura : Travailler dans les domaines de l’innovation sociale et du changement systémique (à la Fondation McConnell et au gouvernement fédéral) m’a aidé à penser d’une manière systémique, à renforcer mon envie de m’attaquer aux causes profondes des problèmes, à tirer parti de l’impact collectif, et à m’investir dans la transformation sociétale. 

Jorge : Au cours de l’année dernière, je suis devenu plus conscient de la manière dont nos choix influencent nos vies et l’environnement qui nous entoure. Le blogue Exponential View d’Azeem Azhar m’a également permis de faire une prise de conscience en ce qui concerne l’équité et la crise climatique, et de réaliser qu’il est urgent d’agir.  

Que souhaitez-vous pour notre avenir collectif? 

Laura : Faire en sorte de léguer une planète habitable et des communautés florissantes aux générations futures.  

Jorge : Je souhaite que le Canada devienne un modèle pour la planète en enchâssant les droits de la nature dans sa législation et en les faisant respecter à la grandeur du pays. 

 

Écrivez-nous

Lauralaura@tamarackcommunity.ca   
Jorgejorge@tamarackcommunity.ca  

 

Suivez-nous sur Twitter  

@laura_schnurr, @jgarza321  

 

Prenez part à la discussion

Joignez-vous à nous lors de nos prochains événements :  Atelier sur l’adaptation des Objectifs de développement durable aux contextes locaux — 24 août  

Webinaire pour le lancement de nos dix guides sur les Objectifs de développement durable — 1er septembre 

 

Apprenez-en davantage 

Topics:
Blog, Homepage Blog, CCT FR Blog, SDGs


Tamarack Institute

By Tamarack Institute

The Tamarack Institute is a connected force for community change. We work with leaders in non-profits, governments, businesses and the community to make work of advancing positive community change easier and more effective. We do this by teaching and writing about collective impact, community engagement, collaborative leadership, community development, and evaluating community impact. We host two learning communities Cities Reducing Poverty and Cities Deepening Community turning theory into action.

Related Posts

Leading in and with communities

Four Stories that Build Community Resilience Using Social Capital

A Happy Birthday Note to John McKnight

BACK TO THE LATEST

The Latest

Contribute. We love to hear your thoughts, your musings and your latest work. Please share with us!
Write a post

Introducing Laura and Jorge

Posted on July 29, 2021
By Tamarack Institute

Meet Laura and Jorge, our Community Climate Transitions team 

Hello! We are thrilled to be part of the Tamarack community! We recently had a coffee conversation in which we shared some reflections on why Community Climate Transitions, what it means to join the Tamarack team, and experiences that have shaped our thinking on equity and climate.   

 

Laura SchnurrJGphoto

 

Why did you choose to embark on Community Climate Transitions?

Laura: The climate crisis is the issue of our time and one that needs to be solved in a way that promotes justice, equity, and wellbeing for all. We need everyone on board right now, working together across our differences to set a common vision and develop transition plans at the local level. 

Jorge: According to UN Secretary-General António Guterres, cities around the world are responsible for more than 70 percent of greenhouse gas emissions. As an urban planner, I believe that contributing to climate action is imperative for any city maker who wants to build more equitable and regenerative places for all living beings to thrive. My engagement in Community Climate Transitions is one of my main actions toward achieving this vision.  

 

What does it mean for you to join the Tamarack community? 

Laura: For me, joining the Tamarack community (and its 38,000+ active learners) is about driving change from the bottom up and connecting community change efforts across the country and around the world. 

Jorge: Joining Tamarack means being part of a network of learners in which deep relationships and community-led innovation can flourish.  

 

What are some of the experiences that have shaped your thinking on equity and climate? 

Laura: Working in social innovation and systems change (both at the McConnell Foundation and with the federal government) helped me to become more of a systems thinker, deepening my appreciation of tackling root causes, using collective impact, and striving for societal transformation. 

Jorge: This past year made me more aware of the choices we make and how they affect our lives and our surrounding environment. Exponential View by Azeem Azhar has also been a reality check on equity and climate, and a critical reminder of the urgency to act.  

 

If you could envision one aspiration for our collective future, what would it be? 

Laura: Ensuring a habitable planet and thriving communities for future generations.  

Jorge: Canada becomes a global model in which the rights of nature are embedded in legislation and enforced across the country. 

 

Connect with us 

Lauralaura@tamarackcommunity.ca   
Jorgejorge@tamarackcommunity.ca  

 

Follow us on Twitter  

@laura_schnurr, @jgarza321  

 

Join the conversation 

Join us for our upcoming events: SDG Localization workshop on August 24 and webinar: A Guide for Advancing the Sustainable Development Goals in Your Community on September 1.

Learn more 

Topics:
Blog, Homepage Blog, CCT blog, SDGs


Tamarack Institute

By Tamarack Institute

The Tamarack Institute is a connected force for community change. We work with leaders in non-profits, governments, businesses and the community to make work of advancing positive community change easier and more effective. We do this by teaching and writing about collective impact, community engagement, collaborative leadership, community development, and evaluating community impact. We host two learning communities Cities Reducing Poverty and Cities Deepening Community turning theory into action.

Related Posts

BACK TO THE LATEST